NEW WHO/UNAIDS REPORT DETAILS PROGRESS IN GLOBAL HIV TREATMENT ACCESS

WHO/UNAIDS Media advisory

EMBARGOED TO 29 JUNE 2005, 12.00 EDT; 16.00 GMT; 17.00 U.K; 18.00 GENEVA

Launching a new report on "3 by 5" progress by June 2005, WHO/UNAIDS will hold two main press events in Geneva; a press conference at the Palais des Nations and a telephone briefing, both scheduled for 29 June 2005. There will be a special briefing organized in Paris. During the briefings, announcements will be made on:

  • Updated global statistics of people receiving combination antiretroviral therapy (ART), including progress towards the “3 by 5” goal to treat 3 million in the developing world
  • Successes and challenges in scaling up HIV treatment access, and
  • Recommendations for donors, international agencies and countries to meet HIV treatment access goals.

Note on the Press briefing at the palais des nations

WHAT: Briefing on progress of global HIV treatment access: an update on "3 by 5"
WHEN: Wednesday, 29 June 2005 at 13.00 Geneva
WHERE: Room III, Palais des Nations, Geneva, Switzerland

SPEAKERS:

  • Dr Jim Yong Kim, Director of HIV/AIDS, WHO
  • Dr Paul De Lay, Director of Evaluation, Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS)
  • Dr Bernhard Schwartländer, Director of Strategic Information and Evaluation, Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria (GFATM)
  • Dr Ties Boerma, Director of Measurement and Health Information Systems, WHO
  • Dr Jos Perriens, Coordinator for AIDS Medicines and Diagnostics, Department of HIV/AIDS, WHO

Note on the briefing for francophone media

A special briefing will be held at the following address:

Centre d'Accueil de la Presse Étrangère
Maison de Radio France - 116
Avenue du Président Kennedy - 75220
Paris Cedex 16

For more information, please contact Michel Aublanc, Tel: +33 1 69 28 62 86; +33 608 719 795; Email: michel.aublanc@wanadoo.fr.

note on the Telephone briefing for international media

***Pre-Registration Required***
To register for the telebriefing, please contact +44 1480 465328; peter.robbs@ukonline.co.uk
+44 20 7635 1593; cathy.bartley@ukonline.co.uk; and +1 212 584 5031 (in US)

WHAT: Interactive telephone media briefing to present the new WHO/UNAIDS report, Progress on Global Access to HIV Antiretroviral Therapy
WHEN: Wednesday, 29 June 2005, 15.00 GMT; 16.00 U.K; 17.00 Geneva

SPEAKERS:

  • Dr Jim Yong Kim, Director of HIV/AIDS, WHO
  • Dr Paul DeLay, Director of Evaluation, UNAIDS
  • Dr Mark Dybul, Deputy US Global AIDS Coordinator, U.S. President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR) (invited)
  • Dr Bernhard Schwartländer, Director of Strategic Information and Evaluation, The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, TB and Malaria
  • Dr Ties Boerma, Director of Measurement and Health Information Systems, WHO

Information from this report and briefing is EMBARGOED until 29 June, 12.00 U.S. EDT; 16.00 GMT; 17.00 U.K.; 18.00 Geneva

A Broll is available for television stations and will be available on EBU satellite feed at 11:45 GMT on 28 June and on ABU satellite feed at 08:00-08:20 UTC on 30 June. There will be another EBU feed at 17 p.m. Geneva time on 29 June. For more information, contact Tunga Namjilsuren, WHO, on +41 22 791 1073, Email: namjilsurent@who.int


For questions on the media advisory, contact Klomjit Chandrapanya, Media officer, WHO, Tel: +41 22 791 5589; Email: chandrapanyak@who.int.

Share