Chronic diseases and health promotion

Working with the regions

Regional Offices

WHO Member States are grouped into six regions. These regions are organizational groupings and, while they are based on geographical terms, are not synonymous with geographical areas. Note that the WHO regions are not the same as those of the United Nations.

- WHO African Region
- WHO Region for the Americas
- WHO Eastern Mediterranean Region
- WHO European Region
- WHO South-East Asia Region
- WHO Western Pacific Region

Each WHO region has a regional office. Regional offices are actively developing and implementing chronic disease prevention and control strategies in association with country offices as part of WHO's global response to the prevention and control of chronic, noncommunicable diseases. The development of these strategies is at different stages in each region. See below the websites of regional offices for more information on strategies.

WHO Regional Office for Africa (AFRO)
WHO Regional Office for the Americas (AMRO)
WHO Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean (EMRO)
WHO Regional Office for Europe (EURO)
WHO Regional Office for South-East Asia (SEARO)
WHO Regional Office for the Western Pacific (WPRO)