Topic Advisory Group for Nutrition

The Nutrition TAG reviews categories in ICD that relate to nutritional disorders. These disorders are found throughout the ICD, though principally within Chapter 5 (Endocrine, nutritional and metabolic diseases) and the section on “Acquired deficiency anaemias” within Chapter 3 (Diseases of the blood and blood-forming organs). The TAG advises on revisions to the classification structure (linearization), formulates titles and definitions for the relevant categories, and make suggestions for classification properties and terminology.
The Nutrition TAG, co-chaired by Dr Mercedes de Onis (also Managing Editor) and Professor Cecilia Martínez-Costa, includes 12 internationally recognized experts from different geographical regions. At present, the structure for the relevant categories in Chapters 3 and 5 have been finalized and incorporated into iCAT (ICD Collaborative Authoring Tool).
Definitions, classification properties and terminology have been completed for two thirds of the nutritional disorders. Textual definitions for all the relevant categories are expected to be ready by the end of May 2014. Next, the Nutrition TAG will engage in the evaluation phase of various aspects of the ICD through participation in field trials that will systematically field test the ICD-11 Beta version in different settings across the world. The Nutrition TAG is also interacting with other TAGs and Working Groups (e.g., Dermatology, Neurology, Mental Health, Rare Diseases, Endocrinology) to coordinate inputs from the different scientific groups.

Mercedes de Onis (Co-Chair and Managing Editor) - World Health Organization, Switzerland
Cecilia Martinez-Costa (Co-Chair) - University of Valencia, Spain
Tahmeed Ahmed - International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh
Beatrice Amadi - University Teaching Hospital, Zambia
Rafael Flores-Ayala - U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), U.S.A.
Nahla Hwalla - American University of Beirut, Lebanon
Alan A. Jackson - Southhampton General Hospital, U.K.
Carlos Monteiro - University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Rebecca Joyce Stolzfus - Cornell University, U.S.A.
Ricardo Uauy - University of London, U.K.
H.H. Esté Vorster - North-West University, South Africa
Emorn Wasantwisut - Mahidol Univeristy, Thailand