In vitro diagnostics and laboratory technology

External quality assessment schemes for HIV, HBsAg and HCV serology

Four WHO regional External Quality Assessment Schemes (EQAS) for HIV, HBsAg and HCV serology are operational in:

  • Africa (anglophone)
  • Africa (francophone)
  • South East Asia
  • Western Pacific

EQAS are planned to commence in the Americas soon.

A total of approximately 130 reference laboratories and blood transfusion services receive proficiency panels at regular intervals to monitor their performance.

In addition, information is collected regarding the type and brands of test kits used and the testing strategies adopted.

Summary reports on each distribution are produced and impartial analysis conducted. Assistance is provided to laboratories with substandard performance.

Countries are encouraged to establish their own national EQAS using WHO guidelines for assistance.

Related documents

Related links

WHO Collaborating Centres web sites

Emergency Use Assessment And Listing (EUAL) Procedure


Contact us

Prequalification Team - Diagnostics
Regulation of Medicines and other Health Technologies
Department of Essential Medicines and Health Products
World Health Organization
20 Avenue Appia
1211, Geneva 27