Global Strategy on Diet, Physical Activity and Health


Professor Sir Partha Dasgupta

Frank Ramsey Professor Emeritus of Economics, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

Professor Sir Dasgupta is Frank Ramsey Professor Emeritus of Economics at the University of Cambridge and Fellow of St John's College, Cambridge. He taught at the London School of Economics (1971–1984) and the University of Cambridge (1985) as Professor of Economics, where he served as Chairman of the Faculty of Economics (1997–2001). He was also Professor of Economics, Professor of Philosophy, and Director of the Program in Ethics in Society at Stanford University (1989–1992); Chairman of the (Scientific Advisory) Board of the Beijer International Institute of Ecological Economics, Stockholm (1991–1996), and Andrew D. White Professor at Large at Cornell University (2006–2013).

Since 1999, he has been a Founder Member of the Management and Advisory Committee of the South Asian Network for Development and Environmental Economics, Kathmandu.

Professor Sir Dasgupta has prepared multiple scientific publications on economics, natural resources and human well-being, published by Oxford University Press and Cambridge University Press.

Professor Sir Dasgupta is a Fellow of multiple academic societies. He is a past President of the Royal Economic Society (1998–2001), the European Economic Association (1999), Section F (Economics) of the BA (British Association for the Advancement of Science) Festival of Science (2006), and President of the European Association of Environmental and Resource Economists (2010–2011).

Professor Dasgupta was named Knight Bachelor by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II in her Birthday Honours List in 2002 for "services to economics"; was co-winner (with Karl-Goran Maler) of the 2002 Volvo Environment Prize and of the 2004 Kenneth E. Boulding Memorial Award of the International Society for Ecological Economics; recipient of the John Kenneth Galbraith Award (2007) of the American Agricultural Economics Association, and the Zayed International Environment Prize, 2010.

He has received Doctorates, Honoris Causa, from Wageningen University, 2000; Catholic University of Louvain, 2007; Faculte Universitaire Saint-Louis, 2009; University of Bologna, 2010; Tilburg University, 2012; and Harvard University, 2014.