Disabilities and rehabilitation

Community-based rehabilitation (CBR): what WHO is doing


Conducting regional and country workshops to promote CBR and the guidelines

CBR regional workshops

WHO is supporting several CBR regional workshops in partnership with other United Nations organizations, international development agencies and nongovernmental organizations in the following regions.

WHO Western Pacific Region
24-26 June 2009
Manila, Philippines
Organized by WHO Western Pacific Regional Office
Contact: Hisashi Ogawa
Email: ogawah@wpro.who.int

WHO South-East Asia Region
1st CBR Asia-Pacific Congress
18-20 February 2009
Bangkok, Thailand
Organized by WHO, UNESCAP and The Government of Thailand
Contacts:
Chapal Khasnabis - emails: khasnabisc@who.int or Somchai Rungslip: somchai@apcdproject.org

WHO Region of the Americas
13-14 November 2008
San José, Costa Rica
Organized by WHO and the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
Contact: Chapal Khasnabis
Email: khasnabisc@who.int
Read more information

WHO South-East Asia Region
25-27 November 2007
Thailand
Organized by WHO, Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) and CBM
Contact: Chapal Khasnabis
Email: khasnabisc@who.int

WHO African Region
30 October - 2 November 2007
South Africa
Organized by CBR African Network
Contacts:
Prof. Sally Hartley - emails: sally@afri-can.org or S.Hartley@uea.ac.uk
Joan Okune - email: joan@afri-can.org

WHO Eastern Mediterranean Region
Damascus, Syria
3-5 December, 2006
Organized by Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)
Contact: Ms Kaoru Takimoto
Email: kaoru@scs-net.org

WHo Region of the Americas
Santiago, Chile
22 – 24 November 2006
Organized by Ministry of Health and FONADIS (National Council of Disabilities)
Contact: Dr. Armando J. Vásquez B, Regional Advisor, Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
E-mail: vasqueza@chi.ops-oms.org

CBR country workshop

Syria
Damascus, February, 2006
Organized by Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)

Share