Humanitarian Health Action

Consolidated Appeal Process 2011 – the Health Sector

Monthly Highlights - November 2010

Consolidated Appeal Process 2011

As Health Cluster lead, WHO worked with all health partners – UN agencies, NGOs, IFRC, ICRC, IOM – to elaborate the health component of the appeals, providing a careful analysis of the expected needs of affected populations and planning inter cluster cooperation to support the health of people in crisis situations.

Fourteen Appeals for 2011 were launched on 30 November: Afghanistan, the Central African Republic, Chad, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Haiti, Kenya, Niger, the occupied Palestinian territory, Somalia, Sudan, the West Africa region, Yemen and Zimbabwe.

The main humanitarian health needs which will be addressed include:

  • monitoring and assessing both health and nutrition status among affected populations to facilitate timely response;
  • exchanging and managing information on communicable diseases among partners to ensure an efficient coordinated response;
  • improving coverage and access to essential health care – particularly reproductive health and emergency obstetric care;
  • making mental health, sexual and gender-based violence (including sexual abuse and its mental health consequences) and HIV/AIDS services available for affected populations;
  • ensuring surveillance and management of medical complications of acute severe malnutrition;
  • conducting multi-sectoral assessments and exchanges between partners to indentify gaps;
  • developing preparedness plans which engage local communities.

To implement the above activities, WHO is seeking US$ 162 471 355, which will also cover the needs for the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Zimbabwe where there are not specific projects for agencies. In these countries the global needs for health are respectively US$ 44 600 000 in DRC and US$ 28 342 152 in Zimbabwe.

For more information