Health statistics and information systems

WHOQOL: Measuring Quality of Life

The Structure of the WHOQOL-100

The structure of the WHOQOL-100 reflects the issues that a group of scientific experts as well as lay people in each of the field centres felt were important to quality of life. The six broad domains of quality of life, and the twenty-four facets covered are shown below. Four items are included for each facet, as well as four general items covering subjective overall QOL and health, producing a total of 100 items in the assessment. All items are rated on a five point scale (1-5).

Domains and facets incorporated within domains

Overall Quality of Life and General Health

Physical Health
  • Energy and fatigue
  • Pain and discomfort
  • Sleep and rest
  • Bodily image and appearance
  • Negative feelings
  • Positive feelings
  • Self-esteem
  • Thinking, learning, memory and concentration
Level of Independence
  • Mobility
  • Activities of daily living
  • Dependence on medicinal substances and medical aids
  • Work capacity
Social Relations
  • Personal relationships
  • Social support
  • Sexual activity
  • Financial resources
  • Freedom, physical safety and security
  • Health and social care: accessibility and quality
  • Home environment
  • Opportunities for acquiring new information and skills
  • Participation in and opportunities for recreation/leisure
  • Physical environment (pollution/noise/traffic/climate)
  • Transport
Spirituality/Religion/Personal beliefs
  • Religion/Spirituality/Personal beliefs (Single facet)