Immunization, Vaccines and Biologicals

Maternal and Neonatal Tetanus (MNT) elimination

The partnership

A strong partnership

The Maternal and Neonatal Tetanus Elimination Initiative was launched by UNICEF, WHO and UNFPA in 1999, revitalizing the goal of MNT elimination as a public health problem. The definition of MNT elimination as a public health problem is defined as less than one NT case per 1000 live births in every district. Maternal tetanus is assumed to be eliminated once NT elimination has been achieved.

Within the partnership, each partner brings in its own field of expertise:

  • Countries: ownership, oversight and implementation of recommended strategies
  • UNICEF coordination of accelerated activities and strengthening routine immunization to achieve and maintain MNT elimination
  • UNFPA promotion of clean deliveries
  • WHO: monitoring and validation of elimination status, development of strategies for maintaining elimination and strengthening routine immunization

The UNICEF/WHO/UNFPA strategy document published in 2000, identified 59 countries* that had not yet achieved MNT elimination. Significant progress has been made since that time, however, as of February 2015, MNT remains a major public health problem in 24 countries**


*Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic (the), Chad, China, Comoros (the), Congo (the), Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo (the), Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Kenya, Liberia, Lao People's Democratic Republic (the), Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Niger (the), Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines (the), Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Togo, Turkey, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania (the), Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe - Timor-Leste and South Sudan increased the number of countries to 59

24 countries where MNT is still a public health problem: Afghanistan, Angola, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo DR, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Kenya, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan and Yemen

3 countries have partly eliminated MNT.

  • Ethiopia (all eliminated except for the Somali region)
  • 32/36 States and Union Territories in India (Andhra Pradesh, Chandigarh, Dehli, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Lakshadweep, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Odisha, Pondicherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tripura, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttarakan & West Bengal)
  • 30/34 Provinces in Indonesia (all provinces have eliminated in 3 phases except Maluku, North Maluku, Papua and West Papua provinces)


Last update:

3 March 2015 16:35 CET