Immunization, Vaccines and Biologicals

Former SAGE members

Disclaimer: Biographies for former SAGE members are NOT updated beyond the time the expert was serving on or rotated out of SAGE

Professor Helen Rees


SAGE Member 2005 - 2013, SAGE Chair 2010 - 2013
Executive Director - Reproductive Health Research Unit, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa

Professor Hyam Bashour


SAGE Member from 2004-2010, Vice-Chair from 2005 - 2010
Professor - Department of Family and Community Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, Damascus University, Syria

Professor Zulfiqar A. Bhutta


SAGE Member from 2009 - 2015
Chair - Department of Paediatrics and Child Health, The Aga Khan University, Pakistan

Doctor Supamit Chunsuttiwat


SAGE Member 2003 - 2010
Senior Medical Officer - Division of General Communicable Diseases, Ministry of Public Health, Thailand

Professor David Durrheim


SAGE Member 2009 - 2012
Professor of Public Health Medicine, University of Newcastle and Director - Health Protection, Hunter New England Area Health Service, Australia

Dr El Tayeb Ahmed El Sayed


SAGE member from 2011 to 2012
Assistant Undersecretary for Public Health and Emergency, Federal Ministry of Health, Sudan

Professor Juhani Eskola


SAGE Member from 2009 to 2015
Deputy Director General - National Institute for Health and Welfare, Finland

Professor J Peter Figueroa


SAGE Member from 2009 - 2015
Consultant - Public Health, Epidemiology and HIV, Department of Community Health and Psychiatry, University of the West Indies, Jamaica

Doctor Xiaofeng Liang


SAGE Member 2008 - 2014
Deputy Director-General - Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention, China

Professor Elizabeth Miller


SAGE Member 2007 - 2013
Head - Immunization Department, Health Protection Agency, Center for Infections, United Kingdom

Doctor Paba Palihawadana


SAGE Member 2011 - 2014
Chief Epidemiologist, Director, Central Epidemiological Unit, Ministry of Health, Sri Lanka

Professor Malik Peiris


SAGE Member from 2009-2010
Chair Professor - Department of Microbiology, the University of Hong Kong, Faculty of Medicine, Hong Kong

Professor Arthur L. Reingold (Vice-Chair)


SAGE Member 2005 - 2012, Vice-Chair since 2011
Head - Division of Epidemiology, University of California, Berkeley, United States of America

Professor David Salisbury


SAGE Member 2003 - 2010, SAGE Chair 2005 - 2010
Director - Immunization, Department of Health, United Kingdom

Professor Oyewale Tomori


SAGE Member from 2009 - 2015
Professor - Virology, Redeemer's University, Nigeria

Disclaimer: The "List of former SAGE members (since 2005)" as previously available in PDF format is currently under revision and will be made available online once finalized.

Last updated: 3 March 2016