Immunization standards


As of May 2012, the DCVRN is composed of nine member countries: Brazil, Cuba, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, People’s Republic of China, Republic of Korea, South Africa and Thailand. To be a member, the country must have at least one manufacturer with a prequalified vaccine for routine immunization, or its NRA must fulfill the six critical regulatory functions required by WHO or have a government endorsed work plan to achieve this.

How to become a member

Membership to the Network is open to the:

  • NRAs of developing countries which have manufacturers with vaccines prequalified by WHO; or
  • NRAs of countries with manufacturers that intend to prequalify vaccines in the near future, and that have an endorsed Institutional Development Plan working with WHO towards the status of functionality required to accept applications for prequalification.

WHO identifies potential new members and a proposal is presented to the other Network members during a DCVRN meeting. If accepted, a visit is made to the selected country NRA to evaluate its suitability to become a member, after which the result of the evaluation is presented at a DCVRN meeting and a decision is made by consensus between the Heads of Delegation.

Last update:

30 May 2012 16:28 CEST