International travel and health

Tajikistan - Polio outbreak

Following the confirmation of an outbreak of polio in Tajikistan, travellers are reminded of the recommendations regarding immunisations before travel to polio affected areas.

There are currently 16 countries for which WHO recommends immunization or boosting. Four of the 16 (Afghanistan, India, Nigeria, Pakistan) remain polio-endemic with indigenous poliovirus circulation.

The remainder are: Angola, Burkina Faso, Chad, Guinea, Liberia, Mauritania, Mali, Nepal, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Tajikistan.

For more information