International travel and health

South Africa - Revised requirements for Yellow Fever vaccination

The National Department of Health from the Republic of South Africa informed WHO that it considered that travellers from countries with low risk of yellow fever transmission still pose a risk of yellow fever importation into the country and that proof of yellow fever vaccination will be required from all travellers (unless in possession of a valid waiver certificate) coming from yellow fever risk countries - including Sao Tome and Principe, Somalia, the United Republic of Tanzania and Zambia. Also, all travellers transiting airports in these countries will have to show proof of yellow fever vaccination at entry in the Republic of South Africa.

The South African yellow fever vaccination policy for travellers can be consulted on the National Department of Health website.