Current MPAC members

Doctor Patricia Graves

Senior Principal Research Fellow, School of Public Health, Tropical Medicine and Rehabilitation Sciences, James Cook University, Cairns, Australia

Patricia Graves MSPH, PhD is a Consultant in Epidemiology and Control of Vector-Borne Diseases, and Associate Professor (adjunct) at James Cook University, School of Public Health, Tropical Medicine and Rehabilitation Sciences, Cairns, Queensland, Australia. Until recently, she was Epidemiologist with the Malaria Control Program, The Carter Center, Atlanta, GA, USA (2007-2011). She also holds adjunct faculty appointments at the International Research Institute for Climate and Society at Columbia University, New York, USA and at the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, Liverpool, UK.

Dr Graves was educated at Cambridge University, UK (Natural Sciences), the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, London, United Kingdom (PhD) and the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver CO, USA (MSPH).

Dr Graves has conducted basic and applied research on malaria, filariasis and other diseases in a range of environments and countries including academic institutions (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, University of Colorado), in research laboratories (US National Institutes of Health; Queensland Institute of Medical Research), at field research institutes (Papua New Guinea Institute of Medical Research, Medical Research Council, The Gambia), for aid agencies and NGOs (AusAID Pacific Regional Vector Borne Diseases Project, The Carter Center), and at public health institutes (guest researcher at US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention).

She has also worked successfully on implementation of malaria and other vector-borne disease control programs while assessing their impact during long or short-term consultancies and contracts in collaboration with national Ministries of Health in numerous countries in Asia, the Pacific and Africa as well as for international agencies, donors and NGOs (the World Bank, AusAID, WHO, USAID, The Carter Center). In addition, she is a founder member of the Cochrane Infectious Diseases Group (since 1995) doing systematic reviews and meta-analyses of interventions to prevent, treat or control malaria and other diseases, and has been author or editor with major input into several significant malaria reviews with policy implications for the Cochrane Library and the Institute of Medicine.

Last updated: 15 December 2011