Current MPAC members

Professor Rose Gana Fomban Leke

Professor and Head of Immunology and Parasitology, Faculty of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, University of Yaounde, Cameroon

Professor Rose Gana Fomban Leke is presently Professor of Immunology and Parasitology and Head of this Department at the Faculty of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University of Yaounde, Cameroon, and Director of the Biotechnology Centre of the same University. She is chair of the Board of Directors of the National Medical Research Institute, IMPM. She serves on the Scientific Committee and the Ethical Committee of Cameroon’s First Lady’s Research Centre: Centre International de Researche Chantal Biya, CIRCB, in Yaounde.

Her research interest is in parasitic infections, particularly malaria. She and collaborators at Georgetown University and at the University of Hawaii have developed expertise in studying malaria during pregnancy, particularly placenta malaria. She is Executive Director of the Cameroon Coalition against malaria, and is the Chair of the Multilateral Initiative in Malaria (MIM) secretariat launched on 15 October 2010 at the Biotechnology Centre of the University of Yaounde.

Professor Leke was President of the Federation of African Immunological Societies (FAIS) from 1997-2000, and a Council member of the International Union of Immunological Societies (IUIS) for two terms: 1998-2004. She is a member of the African Advisory Committee for Experts in Malaria (AACEM) and a member of the Board of Trustees of the African Malaria Network Trust (AMANET). She has been a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) of the European Malaria Vaccine Initiative (EMVI), the WHO Advisory Committee on Malaria Vaccines (MALVAC), and the TDR/MIM (Multilateral Initiative in Malaria) Task Force.

She has served and still serves on many committees for WHO: she is Chair of the African Regional Commission for the Certification of the Eradication of Poliomyelitis (ARCC) and a member and one of the rapporteurs of the Global Certification Commission (GCC). She has been a member and Chair of the African Advisory Committee for Health Research (ACHR, WHO/AFRO) from 1999–2001 and a member of the Global ACHR from 2003-2008. She served as the Vice-Chair of the Technical Evaluation Reference group (TERG) of the Global Fund to fight HIV/AIDS, TB and Malaria from 2004–2009. She was a Board member of the Global Forum for Health Research from 2005–2010.

Last updated: 15 December 2011