Current MPAC members

Professor Caroline Jones

Senior Social Scientist, KEMRI-Wellcome Trust Research Programme

Dr Caroline Jones. KEMRI-Wellcome Trust Research Programme, MPAC members
Mark Henley/ WHO 2017

Professor Caroline Jones is an anthropologist who has been working at the KEMRI-Wellcome Trust Research Programme (KWTRP) in Kenya since 2010. Her work as a senior social scientist is focused on understanding the social context and political economy of health management and disease control, with an emphasis on malaria and maternal and neonatal health in sub-Saharan Africa.

After completing a first degree in Anthropology from University College London and an MSc in Human Biology from the University of Oxford, she moved to Australia to undertake a PhD in anthropology focusing on an ethnographic study of food and health among the traditional inhabitants of north-east Arnhem Land, Australia.

After completing her PhD, Professor Jones returned to the UK and joined the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine to work as a post-doctoral researcher on the ODA-funded Malaria Research and Control programme. This was the start of her career in malaria research. Over the past 20 years her main focus has been operational research on the development and implementation of policies for malaria control with attention to the gap between policy and practice. With over 50 papers in peer reviewed journals, she has contributed to understanding factors influencing the delivery, uptake and use of interventions such as LLINs and IPTp, as well as identifying the challenges faced by health care providers and managers in the implementation of malaria strategies such as ‘Test, Treat, Track’. Much of her research has been conducted as part of multidisciplinary teams and in collaboration with national malaria control programmes or implementing NGOs such as Population Services International and the Malaria Consortium.

She is a member of the Integrated Vector Control Consortium (IVCC) Expert Scientific Advisory Committee on New Paradigms in Vector Control (ESAC 3) and has served on the MIM/TDR Task Force for Malaria Research Capacity Strengthening in Africa, and the RBM/IMCI (WHO) Task force on Case Management, among others.