Countries of the Greater Mekong making inroads in the race towards elimination

7 December 2017

Two girls in a rubber plantation where malaria is endemic in Mon State, Myanmar
V. Sokhin/WHO

In recent years, countries of the Greater Mekong Subregion – Cambodia, the People’s Republic of China (specifically Yunnan Province), the Lao People’s Democratic Republic (Lao PDR), Myanmar, Thailand and Viet Nam – have accelerated their efforts to prevent, diagnose and treat malaria. Together, they are making significant headway towards a common target: eliminating malaria by the year 2030.

According to the latest bulletin from WHO, the reported number of malaria cases and deaths in the GMS fell by 74% and 91%, respectively, between 2012 and 2016. Mid-year estimates for 2017 point to a further decline in cases.