Media centre

WHO issues revised drinking water guidelines to help prevent water-related outbreaks and disease


National technical experts available for interviews

Experts who have been part of the Technical Committee working on the revision of the Guidelines and who can comment on drinking water challenges and successes in their countries include:

Australia: Dr David Cunliffe, Principal Water Quality Adviser, Department of Health, Tel: (+61) (8) 8226 7153, Email: David.Cunliffe@health.sa.gov.au

Bangladesh: Professor M. Feroze Ahmed, Professor of Civil/Environmental Engineering, Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET), Tel:. (+880) 2 966 3593; E-mail: fahmed@ce.buet.ac.bd

Canada: Ms Michèle Giddings, Manager, Water Quality & Science Division, Health Canada, Tel: (+1) (613) 952-2594, Email: Michele_Giddings@hc-sc.gc.ca

Colombia: Mr Jorge Latorre Montero, Universidad del Valle/Cinara, Facultad de Ingenieria, Cali, Tel: (+57) (2) 339 3245, Email: jorgelat@univalle.edu.co

Germany: Dr Ingrid Chorus, Umweltsbundesamt (Federal Environmental Agency), Tel: (+49) (30) 8903 - 1346/1305, Email: ingrid.chorus@uba.de

Japan: Dr Shou-ichi Kunikane, Director, Department of Water Supply Engineering, National Institute of Public Health, Tel: (+81) (3) 3441 7504, Email: kunikane@niph.go.jp

Malaysia: Dr Suresh Kumar, Associate Professor, Department of Parasitology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya, Tel: (+60) (3) 7967 54743, Email: suresh@ummc.edu.my

The Netherlands: Dr Ana Maria de Roda Husman, Health-Related Water Microbiology, Rijksinstituut voor Volksgezondheid en Milieu, Bilthoven, Tel: (+31) (030) 274-4325

Sweden (and other Nordic countries): Dr Thor-axel Stenström, Swedish Institute for Infectious Disease Control, Tel: (+46) (8) 4572469, Mobile (+46) (706) 476 047, Email: thor-axel.stenstrom@smi.ki.se

South Africa: Professor Willie Grabow, Consultant, Health-Related Water Microbiology, Pretoria, Tel: + 27 12 361 1973, Email: wgrabow@icon.co.za

Thailand: Dr Theechat Boonyakarnkul, Director, Sanitation and Health Impact Assessment Division, Ministry of Public Health, Tel: 662 590 4342, Email: tchat@health.moph.go.th

United Kingdom: Mr John Fawell, Independent consultant on Drinking Water and Environment. Tel: (+44) (0)162 852 0494, Mobile: (+44) (0)7930 986 169, Email: john.fawell@johnfawell.co.uk

United States: Dr Ed Ohanian, Director, Health and Ecological Criteria Division (MC: 4304T), USEPA US Environmental Protection Agency, Tel: +1 202 566-1117, Email: ohanian.edward@epamail.epa.gov

Share

For more information contact:

Mr Gregory Hartl
Telephone: +41 (22) 791 4458
Mobile phone: +41 (79) 203 6715
E-mail: hartlg@who.int