Noncommunicable diseases and mental health

What is a United Nations General Assembly high-level meeting?

Online Q&A (1)

Q: What is a United Nations General Assembly high-level meeting?

A: The UN General Assembly (UNGA) is the principal decision-making body of the UN, representing all 192 Member States

The UNGA frequently resolves to stage high-level meetings in order to increase awareness and reach common ground among heads of state and government on important global issues, with a view to improving or advancing such issues for the good of all people of the world.

On 13 May, 2010, the UNGA decided unanimously to "convene a high-level meeting of the General Assembly … on the prevention and control of non-communicable diseases." This step was taken after consideration of the global health, socio-economic and development impacts of the four main types of NCDs, namely cardiovascular diseases, cancers, chronic respiratory diseases and diabetes. These diseases also share four common risk factors: tobacco use, harmful use of alcohol, physical inactivity and poor diet. The Caribbean Group of States (CARICOM) proposed the resolution calling for the high-level meeting.

The subsequent "modalities resolution" of the UNGA passed on 13 December, 2010, stated that the high-level meeting would be held on 19-20 September 2011, in New York. This resolution also outlined the processes leading up to, and the features of, the high-level meeting.

Related UN resolutions

UN High-level Meeting on NCD prevention and control - 19-20 September 2011


World Health Organization - NMH
20 Avenue Appia
1211 Geneva 27
Paul Garwood