Patient safety

Background & leadership

In June 2008, an International Expert Consensus Working Group met in Geneva to review the draft curriculum. The Curriculum Guide has been available on line since January 2009.


This work is led by Professor Bruce Barraclough in Australia supported by WHO Patient Safety. Professor Merrilyn Walton and her team from the University of Sydney, Office of Postgraduate Medical Education and Monash University in Australia have produced the first draft of the Curriculum Guide. Dr Rona Patey and Dr Rhona Flin of Aberdeen University and their teams have created and are leading the global evaluation study.

International working group
  • Dr Mohamed Saad Al-Moamary, College of Medicine, King Saud Bin Abdulaziz University for Health Sciences, Saudi Arabia
  • Professor Bruce Barraclough, New South Wales Clinical Excellence Commission, Australia
  • Dr Ranjit De Alwis, International Medical University, Malaysia
  • Dr Anas Eid, International Federation of Medical Students Associations (IFMSA), France
  • Professor Rhona Flin, School of Psychology, University of Aberdeen, UK
  • Professor Pierre Claver Kariyo, School of Medicine, Bujumbura, Burundi
  • Dr Lorelei Lingard, Wilson Centre for Research in Education at University Health Network, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Professor Jorge Martinez, Universidad Del Salvador, Argentina
  • Professor Chit Soe, Ministry of Health, Myanmar
  • Professor Merrilyn Walton, CIPHER, University of Sydney, Australia
  • Dr Lee Young-Mee, Korea University College of Medical Education, Republic of Korea
  • Mingming Zhang, Chinese Cochrane Centre, Sichuan University, P.R China
  • Dr Amitai Ziv, The Israel Centre for Medical Simulation, Sheba Medical Center and Sackler School of Medicine, Tel-Aviv University, Israel