Patient safety

Country Group Launch of the First Global Patient Safety Challenge "Clean Care is Safer Care" in Uruguay

30 November 2007

Uruguay hosted the launch of the First Global Patient Safety Challenge "Clean Care is Safer Care" on 30 November 2007, at the Hotel Conrad - Sala Punta del Este, in Montevideo, the capital city of Uruguay.

The launch took place as part of the Meeting of Ministers of the MERCOSUR and Associated Latin American countries that are coming together to debate ways for improving health care in the region. Patient safety is a key theme in Uruguay's Presidency of the MERCOSUR countries. The launch gathered Ministers of Health and Ambassadors from eight other Latin American countries, directors of the most important health institutions of Uruguay, academics and health professionals working in the areas of quality and safety in healthcare. Participating countries include Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador and Paraguay.

Dra. Maria Julia Muñoz, Minister of Public Health of Uruguay, hosted a ceremony together with the eight other Ministers of Health committed to sign a statement pledging to take action on health care-associated infection in their countries, in the presence of Professor Didier Pittet, Leader of the First Global Patient Safety Challenge programme of the World Alliance for Patient Safety.

Uruguay, aware of the fact that health care-associated infection poses a serious challenge on patient safety, has created a working group to oversee the control and prevention of these infections and to address the associated mortality and morbidity, as well as the important economic repercussions for the patient and the country's health system.

Ministers of Health and Senior Representatives:

Ministra de Salud Pública de la República Oriental del Uruguay Dra. María Julia Muñoz.

Subsecretario de Salud de la República Oriental del Uruguay Dr. Miguel Fernández Galeano

Sr. Director General de la Salud de la República Oriental del Uruguay Dr.Jorge Basso

SR. Representante de la OPS-OMS en el Uruguay Dr. José Fernando Dora

Ministro de Salud y Ambiente de la República Argentina Dr. Ginés González García

Ministro de Salud de República Federativa del Brasil Dr. José Gómez Temporao

Ministro de Salud Pública y Bienestar Social de la República del Paraguay Dr. Oscar Martínez Doldán

Ministra de Salud y Deporte de la República de Bolivia Dra. Nila Heredia

Ministra de Salud de la República de Chile Dra. María Soledad Barria

Ministra de Salud Pública de la Repùblica de Ecuador Dra. Carolina Chang Campos