Patient safety

Peter Pronovost recognised by Time Magazine

Peter Pronovost has been chosen by the editors of Time Magazine as one of their 100 most influential people in 2008 and is featured in this year's edition of the annual Time 100 issue.

This is in recognition of Peter's work to find innovating ways to improve patient safety and care. His work is changing the way medical care is seen not just in his home country USA, but globally.

Peter leads the World Health Organization's evaluation work to improve patient safety measurement and leadership globally. He serves in an advisory capacity to the World Alliance for Patient Safety.

Biographical information

Peter J. Pronovost, MD, PhD is a practicing anesthesiologist and critical care physician, teacher, researcher, and international patient safety leader. Peter is a Professor in the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine (Departments of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, and Surgery); in the Bloomberg School of Public Health (Department of Health Policy and Management) and in the School of Nursing. He is also Medical Director for the Center for Innovation in Quality Patient Care, which supports quality and safety efforts at the Johns Hopkins Hospitals.

In 2003 he established the Quality and Safety Research Group to advance the science of safety. With his research team he is dedicated to improving healthcare through methods that are scientifically rigorous, but feasible at the bedside. Dr. Pronovost holds a doctorate in clinical investigation from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

The author of more than 200 articles and chapters in the fields of patient safety, ICU care, quality health care, evidence-based medicine, and the measurement and evaluation of safety efforts, Peter is also a frequent speaker on the topics of quality and safety leadership and implementation of large scale change. He chairs the JCAHO ICU Advisory Panel for Quality Measures, the ICU Physician Staffing Committee for the Leapfrog Group, and serves on the Quality Measures Work Group of the National Quality Forum. He has won several national awards for his research, including the 2004 John Eisenberg Patient Safety Research Award.