Patient safety

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Patients for Patients Safety?

Patients for Patient Safety (PFPS) is an action area of WHO Patient Safety. It aims to promote active patient engagement in the work of the Alliance and in patient safety work worldwide. PFPS collaborates with a wide range of patient, consumer and patient safety organizations to develop and deliver its projects and workplans.

An informal, consumer-led steering group is coordinating the work of PFPS. Details of the steering group members can be found on this page:

How can I get involved in the Patients for Patient Safety work?

If you are interested in attending one of our workshops please keep an eye on our main webpage where these will be announced and interested parties invited to apply to participate.

If you represent a consumer organization working in the patient safety field or wishing to become involved in patient safety we want to hear from you. Please email the PFPS team on

You can also receive our Newsletter by sending an email to

What is a Patients for Patient Safety Champion?

A Patients for Patient Safety Champion is an individual who has attended a PFPS Workshop, signed up to the spirit and vision outlined in the London Declaration (link below) and committed to work towards improving patient safety in their own countries and regions. Patients for Patient Safety Champions have set up their own networks and in-country groups, arranged local and regional events, attended numerous conferences and meetings, highlighted the issues around patient safety in writings and publications, and lobbied their local policy-makers to take this issue seriously.

PFPS started with 21 Patients for Patient Safety Champions who were selected from 120 applicants to attend the first Patients for Patient Safety Workshop which took place in London, United Kingdom in November 2005. Their collective voice and passion to make a change in healthcare led to the drafting of the London Declaration.

Today the programme has over 170 Patients for Patient Safety Champions worldwide. More details on these are available on this page: