Public health, innovation, intellectual property and trade

Contributions to the Second Public Hearing - Section 1, Draft Global Strategy and Plan of Action

Please find below links to all contributions received to date, in their original languages, and a section containing summaries of contributions. Contributions from Members States will be grouped separately. A synopsis of the contributions will be prepared and will inform the discussions of the second session of the Intergovernmental Working Group on Public Health, Innovation and Intellectual Property in November.

Jacqueline Bonisteel - Academia/Research, Intern, University of Ottawa

Robert Reinhard - Civil Society, San Francisco Department of Public Health Research Section, USA

Philip Stevens - NGO, On Behalf of a Coalition of 24 Civil Society Groups, UK

Harvey Bale - NGO, International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufactures and Associations, Switzerland

Richard Barker - The Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry, UK

Jeremiah Norris - Director, Center for Science in Public Policy, Hudson Institute, USA

Harvey Bale (second submission) - NGO, International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufactures and Associations, Switzerland

Gene Copello - Civil Society, Executive Director, The AIDS Institute, USA

Durhane Wong-Rieger - NGO, Consumer Advocare Network, Canada

Adrian Koning - NGO, Canadian Organization for Rare Disorders, Canada

Thomas Pogge - NGO, Incentives for Global Health, USA

Wellcome Trust - Charitable Foundation, UK

Marc Wortmann - Executive Director, Alzheimer's Disease International, UK

Jo Harkness - International Organization, International Alliance Patients' Organizations, UK

Lawrence Kogan- Institute for Trade, Standards, and Sustainable Development, USA

Kevin Outterson - Associate Professor of Law, Boston University, USA

Tracy Haller - Private Sector, Novartis, USA

Myrl Weinberg - President, National Health Council, USA

European Generic Medicines Association - International Non-Profit Organisation, Belgium

Daniele Capezzone, Benedetto Della Vedova, Veaceslav Untila and Kelsey Zahourek - Government Institution, European Parliamentarians and the Property Rights Alliance, Italy

Ronald Cass - Academia/Research, Center for the Rule of Law, USA

Sangeeta Shashikant - NGO, Third World Network, Malaysia

Caroline Gallant - NGO, Universities Allied for Essential Medicine, Canada

Lila Feisee - Private Sector, Biotechnology Industry Organization, USA

Richard Kjeldgaard - Private Sector, Pharmaceutical Researchers and Manufacturers of America, USA

Meri Koivusalo - Government Institution, National Research and Development Centre for Welfare and Health, Finland

Jean-Frederic Morin - Academia/Research, The Innovation Partnership, Canada

Peter Munyi - Civil Society, HAI Africa on behalf of the African Civil Society Coalition, Kenya

Peter Munyi - Civil Society, Health Action International Africa, Kenya

Randall Rutta - Civil Society, Easter Seals, USA

Ellen t'Hoen - NGO, Médecins Sans Frontières - Campaign for Access to Essential Medicines, France

Wayne Taylor - Academia/Research, McMaster University, Canada

Paul Herrling - Private Sector, Novartis International AG, Switzerland

Janet Trunzo - NGO, The Advanced Medical Technology Association. USA

Christian Wagner-Ahlfs - NGO, Health Action International, Netherlands

Harald Zimmer - Private Sector, VFA/German Association of Research-based Pharmaceutical Manufacturers, Germany

Frederick Abbott and Jerome Reichman - Academia/Research, Florida State University College of Law & Duke University School of Law, USA

Spring Gombe - NGO, Knowledge Ecology International, Switzerland

Manon Ress - NGO, Knowledge Ecology International, Switzerland

Xuanhao Chan - NGO, FIP/International Pharmaceutical Federation, Netherlands

Mohga Kamal-Yanni - NGO, Oxfam International, UK

Felix Rozanski - Director, Asociación de Derechos Intelectuales, Argentina

Milan Hosta - Director, Asthma & Sport Organization, Slovenija

Brendan Barnes - Private Sector, European Federation of Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations, Belgium



Public health, innovation, intellectual property and trade

Dr Suzanne Hill
Director, EMP
Essential Medicines and Health Products (EMP)

Dr Marie-Paule Kieny
Assistant Director-General, HIS
Health Systems and Innovation (HIS)