Deliver Now for Women + Children

Latin America & Caribbean

Actuemos YA por las Mujeres y los Niños
South-South cooperation for MDGs 4 and 5

H.E. Michelle Bachelet
H.E. Michelle Bachelet/©WHO

The first Regional Initiative of Deliver Now for Women + Children has been rolled out in the Latin America and Caribbean region. It has been conceived as a south-south cooperation strategy which seeks to develop an innovative and flexible approach towards sustained political, technical and financial support between countries, international organizations and the private sector.
For a background note on the regional initiative, see Related Documents on the right.

September 2008

19 September, Santiago Chile - The Deliver Now Latin America and Caribbean (LAC) initiative was launched on 19 September by President Bachelet and Prime Minister Stoltenberg with other health dignitaries: the Director of the Pan American Health Organization/WHO Regional Director, Dr Mirta Roses, Chile's former Minister of Health Dr Maria Soledad Barria and the Director of The Partnership, Dr Francisco Songane. The art exhibit, "Art 4 Health" was also highlighted at the launch event.
For more information about the launch, related documents and photos, see links on the right.

Media workshops

Workshops for the media - for national journalists and international correspondents - took place at the beginning of September, to build capacity and sensitize journalists about maternal, newborn and child issues.

The popular Chilean actress, Mariana Loyola, was introduced as one of the national Ambassadors for maternal, newborn and child health. She made a call to the press to raise awareness among the public about this issue. She announced her role was to ensure people knew what their rights are when it comes to maternal and child healthcare related issues.

August 2008

The Partnership supported a second meeting in Santiago on 28 and 29 August, which was co-financed by PAHO and the PMNCH and organized in close collaboration with the offices of the Ministry of Health and its department of international relations. In addition to the four original counties, multilateral agencies (UNICEF, UNDP, ECLAC, World Bank), non-governmental organizations (Family Care International, FIGO and Save the Children), the second meeting had the participation of 4 new countries (Nicaragua, Paraguay, Perú, and Uruguay). Cuba, Haiti and Honduras confirmed their interest but were unable to participate. These countries will join the initiative, which will be then extended to other countries in the region with the highest burden. More countries will join in a third phase . The initiative will accompany the MDGs until 2015. For more information in Spanish, use the "Spanish" tab at the top of the page.

July 2008

Four countries started the development of the first phase of a regional initiative convened by Chile, including Bolivia, Ecuador and Brazil. Other national and international agencies were also represented in the 1&2 July meeting: Chilean International Cooperation Agency (AGCI), Population Fund (UNFPA), Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), as well as representatives from schools of midwifery and obstetrics Chilean, and other governmental actors (Ministry of Foreign Affairs).

The group identified five levels of action for the regional south-south cooperation plan:

  • High-level political commitment and policy dialogue
  • Promotion and communications
  • Financing
  • Technical cooperation and exchange of experiences
  • Advocacy and community mobilization
February 2008

The Latin American initiative was first announced at a special Spanish session in February 2008 of the Commission for the Status of Women at the United Nations. For a full report, see the link on the right.

September 2007