Sexual and reproductive health

The Millennium Development Goals Report 2015

This report is based on a master set of data that has been compiled by the Inter-Agency and Expert Group on MDG Indicators led by the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat, in response to the wishes of the General Assembly for periodic assessment of progress towards the MDGs. The Group comprises representatives of the international organizations whose activities include the preparation of one or more of the series of statistical indicators that were identified as appropriate for monitoring progress towards the MDGs. A number of national statisticians and outside expert advisers also contributed.

Millennium Development Goal 5

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) were set at the 2000 Millennium Summit to accelerate global progress in development. Sexual and reproductive health is a prerequisite of all goals, particularly those related to gender and health. Progress is monitored through achievement of two targets and their associated indicators for monitoring under MDG 5.

TARGET 5.A: Reduce by three quarters, between 1990 and 2015, the maternal mortality ratio

An auxiliary nurse and midwife provides health services to a pregnant woman in Rajasthan, India
Photoshare/RN Mittal

5.1 Maternal mortality ratio
5.2 Proportion of deliveries attended by skilled health personnel

TARGET 5.B: Achieve, by 2015, universal access to reproductive health

Mothers and Infants at Primary Health Centre, Madagascar
UN Photo/Eskinder Debebe

5.3 Contraceptive prevalence rate
5.4 Adolescent birth rate
5.5 Antenatal care coverage
5.6 Unmet need for family planning

Related links