Tuberculosis (TB)

WHO Global Task Force on TB Impact Measurement

Frequently-asked questions

What are the 21 global focus countries where surveys of the prevalence of TB disease are recommended and how were they selected?

Frequently-asked questions

21 global focus countries

The 21 global focus countries identified by the Task Force in December 2007 (for further details see the meeting report) are:

In the African region: Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, and Zambia.

In the Eastern Mediterranean region: Pakistan

In the South East Asian region: Bangladesh, Indonesia, Myanmar and Thailand

In the Western Pacific region: Cambodia, China, the Philippines and Viet Nam

These countries were selected based on primarily epidemiological criteria: a high estimated prevalence rate (at least 75 cases of smear-positive TB per 100,000 population) and a substantial share of the regional burden of TB. Other criteria included the implementation of a national survey between around 2000 and 2007 (mostly relevant to countries in the Western Pacific Region), which meant that baseline data were already available to allow measurement of trends; and the existence of plans and funding to implement surveys between 2008 and 2015.

From 2009, two additional countries that met the Task Force's criteria for implementing a prevalence survey have also been considered as global focus countries: Ethiopia and Togo. They may officially replace Mozambique and Sierra Leone in the list, since it appears unlikely that surveys will be possible in these two countries.