Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC)

STAC provides external scientific and technical input in the planning, prioritization and review of TDR’s activities. More specifically, STAC:

  • reviews, from a scientific and technical standpoint, the content, scope and dimensions of the Special Programme;
  • recommends priorities within the Special Programme, including the establishment and disestablishment of scientific working groups, and all scientific and technical activities related to the Special Programme;
  • provides the JCB and the TDR Secretariat with a continuous independent evaluation of the scientific and technical aspects of all activities of the Special Programme.

The STAC shall be comprised of 15 multidisciplinary members, selected on the basis of individual scientific or technical competence. Members serve for a period of 2 years and may be reappointed.

The thirty-ninth meeting of the STAC (STAC40) will take place in Geneva from 21 to 22 March 2018.

Reports and recommendations

Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee Members from 1 January 2018

Professor Charles Stephen Mgone

Former Executive Director, European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP), Netherlands

Dr Ayat Abu-Agla

Focal Person of Research & Publication Section, National Human Resources for Health Observatory, Ministry of Health, Sudan

Professor Maria Teresa Bejarano

Senior Research Advisor, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (Sida), Sweden

Professor Afif Bin Salih

Full Professor of Community Medicine, College of Medicine and Medical Sciences, Bahrein

Dr Graeme Bilbe

Research and Development Director, Drugs for Neglected Diseases initiative (DNDi), Geneva, Switzerland.

Professor Moses John Bockarie

Professor of Tropical Health Sciences, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, UK

Dr Claudia Chamas

Researcher, Centre for Technological Development in Health (CDTS) of the Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (Fiocruz), Brazil

Professor Sónia Dias

Associate Professor, International Public Health – Institute of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal

Dr Sara Eyangoh

Scientific Director, Centre Pasteur of Cameroon (CPC), Cameroon

Professor Simon Hales

Research Associate Professor: Environmental Epidemiology, University of Otago, New Zealand

Professor Subhash Hira

Distinguished Professor of Public Health & Infectious Diseases, Public Health Foundation of India

Dr Shagufta Perveen

Senior Instructor, Health System and Policy Research Group, The Aga Khan University, Pakistan

Dr Sonnia Romero Gorski

Director of the Health and Anthropology Program, Instituto de Antropologia, Uruguay

Professor Stephen (Bertie) Squire

Director, Centre for Applied Health Research and Delivery, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, UK

Professor Xiao-Nong Zhou

Director, National Institute of Parasitic Diseases (IPD), China CDC

News from TDR Director, John Reeder

This month we profile our youngest TDR Global member ever, report on new gender equity and social innovation initiatives, highlight critical research on a new drug for onchocerciasis, and review work in fairness and effectiveness of our support.

TDR Global - a new platform for research networking.

About TDR: Building the science of solutions

TDR, the Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (TDR) is a global programme of scientific collaboration established in 1975. Its focus is to improve the health and well-being of people burdened by infectious diseases of poverty through research and innovation. TDR is hosted at the World Health Organization (WHO), and is sponsored by the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the World Bank and WHO.