JCB elects Hannah Akuffo as new chair

TDR news item
26 June 2014

Professor Hannah Akuffo of Sweden was elected as the new chair of TDR’s Joint Coordinating Board at this week’s 37th session, replacing outgoing chair Dr Sue Kinn of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Dr Hannah Akuffo of Sweden is acting Head of the Research Cooperation Unit of the Swedish Development Cooperation Agency (Sida). She has a proven track record in research on the immunology of poverty-related diseases and holds an Adjunct Professor title at the Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm, Sweden.

Dr Akuffo, who was born in Ghana and received her undergraduate degree there, is known as a passionate advocate of research capacity building in low-income countries and has extensive experience with Euro-African research cooperation and funding. Until January of 2014, Dr Akuffo was the Chair of the European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership’s (EDCTP) General Assembly.

She has been the recipient of TDR grants and engaged in advisory roles with TDR over the past 20 years, most recently as a member of the Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee from 2006-2011, and she is the current Chair of ESSENCE on health research initiative, which is based at TDR.

“It is truly a pleasure and a privilege for me,” Dr Akuffo said, “to serve TDR at this phase of strength and reinvigoration. I strongly believe in the focus on implementation research and building capacity for not only academic scientists but also for those involved in solving public health operational challenges. This approach will certainly improve the lives of those disproportionately affected by the wide range of diseases of poverty that TDR addresses.”

For more information, contact:

Garry Aslanyan (