Tobacco Free Initiative (TFI)

WNTD 2008 awards - the winners

Every year, WHO recognizes individuals or organizations in each of the six WHO Regions for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control. This recognition takes the form of Special Director-General Awards, World No Tobacco Day Awards, and in 2008, one Director-General's Special Recognition Certificate.

Director-General Special awards

  • Professor Harry Seftel, South Africa: Professor Emeritus of Medicine/Professor of Clinical Research, Professor of African Diseases of the University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg - South Africa.
  • Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM):
    The Hon. Dr Denzil Douglas, Prime Minister of St Kitts and Nevis,
    The Right Honourable Arthur Owen, Former Prime Minister of Barbados,
    The Honourable Patrick Manning, Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago.

Director-General's Special Recognition certificate

  • Yuhta Ohishi, Japan


  • Foroyaa newspaper, Gambia
  • Mrs Comfort Opoku-Ware, Greater Accra Regional Manager, Ghana Tourist Board (GTB), GHANA
  • Dr Sinna Bolly, Présidente de l’ONG/AMALUTS (Association Mauritanienne de Lutte contre la Tuberculose et le SIDA), Mauritania
  • Mrs Bharathi Viswanathan, Senior Nursing Officer, Ministry of Health and Social Development, Seychelles
  • Professor Peter Amollo Odhiambo, Professor of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery, Nairobi - Kenya


  • University Students: Javier Rivera Rosario, Argentina,Sebastián Parada, Mendoza, Argentina , Luis Enrique Cuesta Martínez (Lucho), Fundación Choco Jovan, Bogotá,Colombia, Florencia Maldonado Torres, Montevideo, Uruguay
  • COJLAT, Comisión de Lucha Antitabáquica, Bolivia
  • Nongovernmental Organization, ACT/BR (Aliança de Controle de Tabagismo) Brazil


  • Antismoking Society – Bahrain (ASB)
  • Mrs Nadine Kayrouz El Krab, President of the Organization, Lebanon
  • Dr Ahmed Abd El Rahman Mohamed, Head of the International Friendship Council, Sudan
  • Mrs Raoudha Kaabi, Director of College Menzah, Ministry of Public Health, Tunisia
  • Lalla Salma Association against Cancer (ALSC), Morocco


  • Professor Dr Recep AKDAĞ, Minister of Health , Turkey
  • Dr Tharald Hetland, Chief County Medical Officer of Oppland County in Lillehammer, Norway
  • Professor Mykola Polischuk, Adviser of the President of Ukraine on health and the Chairman of the National Health Board of the President of Ukraine, Ukraine.
  • Gunilla Bolinder, Chief Physician, Director of Studies and Education Karolinska University Hospital, Stockholm, Sweden
  • D-MYST (Direct Movement by the Youth Smoke-free Team), Liverpool, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Dr Anna Gilmore, MBBS DTM&H MSc Public Health PhD FFPH Clinical Reader in Public Health, School for Health, University of Bath, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland


  • Bangladesh National Tobacco Control Cell (NTCC), Bangladesh
  • Dr Surendra Shastri, Tata Memorial Centre, Mumbai, India
  • Mr Bobby Ramakant, National Alliance of People's Movements (NAPM), India
  • Dr Choochai Suppawongse, Ministry of Public Health, Thailand:
  • Dr Lakkhana Termsirikulchai, Ministry of Public Health, Thailand, Director of the Tobacco Control Research and Knowledge Management Centre, Thailand:


  • Cambodia Movement for Health (CMH), Cambodia:
  • Hanoi School of Public Health, Viet Nam
  • Ding Xiangyang, Deputy Mayor, Beijing Municipality, The People's Republic of China:
  • Smoke-Free Luang Prabang, Lao People's Democratic Republic