Tobacco Free Initiative (TFI)

World No Tobacco Day 2009 Awards - the winners

Every year, WHO recognizes individuals or organizations in each of the six WHO Regions for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control. This recognition takes the form of Director-General Special Recognition Awards and World No Tobacco Day Awards.

Director-General Special Recognition Awards

  • Dr Pisit Leeahtam, Dean, Faculty of Economics Chiang Mai University Thailand
  • Working Team on Public Health Warnings on Tobacco Products, Mongolia


  • Dr Umar Aliyu Moddibo, Former Minister, Federal Capital Territory, Nigeria
  • Cancer Association of South Africa (CANSA), South Africa
  • M. Ndanina Aimé, Président de l’association, Association Burundaise de Lutte contre le Tabagisme, Burundi
  • M. Daouda Elhadj Adam, Secrétaire Général, Association pour la Défense des Droits des Consommateurs (ADC), Tchad
  • Latrikunda Upper Basic School, Department of State for Basic and Secondary Education, Gambia
  • Dr Lansana Sandry Camara, Secrétaire exécutif, Association Guinéenne de Lutte contre le Tabagisme (AGLT), Guinée


  • Senator Sebastião Afonso Viana Macedo Neves, Brazil
  • RED Nacional Antitabaco (RENATA), Costa Rica
  • Congresswoman Zury Mayte Ríos-Montt Sosa de Weller,
    Fifth Secretary of the Board of the Parliament and Member of the Committee of External Relations and Committee of Public Health and Social Welfare, Guatemala
  • National Tobacco Control Committee (NTCC), Ministry of Health, Trinidad and Tobago


  • Ms Samira Ali Higo, Focal Point of the Tobacco Control Programme, Ministry of Health, Djibouti
  • Dr Naser El Sayed, Minister Assistant for Preventive Affairs, Ministry of Health, Egypt
  • Dr Mostafa Ghaffari, Director-General for Environmental and Occupational Health, Secretariat for National Tobacco Control, Ministry of Health and Medical Education, Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Dr Javid Khan, Chair National Alliance for Tobacco Control, Aga Khan University, Pakistan
  • Dr Tawfik Ahmed Khoja, Director General, Health Ministers’ Council for Cooperation Council States, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • H.E. Mr Mondher Zenaidi, Minister of Public Health, Ministry of Public Health, Tunisia


  • Dr Aurelijus Veryga, President, Baltic Tobacco and Alcohol Control CoalitionLithuanian Tobacco and Alcohol Control Coalition, Lithuania
  • Ministry of Health, Romania
  • Dr Nikolary Gerasimenko, Deputy Head of the Committee for Health Protection of Russian Parliament DUMA, Russian Federation
  • Ms Vesna Kerstin Petrič, Head of Sector for Health Promotion and Healthy Life Styles, Ministry of Health of the Republic of Slovenia


  • His Excellency Prof A. F. M. Ruhal Haque, Minister of Health and Family Welfare, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Bangladesh
  • Dr Nirakar Man Shrestha, Former Health Secretary Ministry of Health and Population Kathmandu, Nepal
  • Department of Disease Control, Ministry of Public Health, Thailand
  • Dr Supakorn Buasai, Manager, Thai Health Promotion Foundation, Thailand


  • Dato' Dr Hj Ramlee Bin Rahmat, Deputy Director General (Public Health), Ministry of Health, Malaysia
  • Department of Health and Ageing, Australia
  • Hanoi School of Public Health, Viet Nam
  • National Smoking Control Programme, Singapore Health Promotion Board, Singapore