Tobacco Free Initiative (TFI)

World No Tobacco Day 2012 Awards - the winners

Every year, WHO recognizes individuals or organizations in each of the six WHO Regions for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control. This recognition takes the form of WHO Director-General Special Recognition Awards, World No Tobacco Day Awards, and in 2012, one WHO Director-General's Special Recognition Certificate.

WHO Director-General Special awards

  • Dr José Agenor Álvares da Silva, Director, Agência Nacional de Vigilância Sanitária, Brazil
  • His Excellency Prime Minister Karim Massimov, the Republic of Kazakhstan

WHO Director-General's Special Recognition certificate

  • Professor Chen Zhu, Minister of Health, People's Republic of China

African Region awardees

  • Brufut Lower Basic School, the Republic of the Gambia
  • Dr Toure Fatoumata Diallo, Association de lutte contre le tabac et autres stupéfiants au Mali (ALUTAS MALI), the Republic of Mali
  • Coalition Against Tobacco (CAT), the Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Dr Abdoul Aziz Kasse, Ligue Sénégálaise contre le Tabac (LISTAB), the Republic of Senegal
  • Dr Deo Sekimpi, Uganda National Association of Community and Occupational Health, the Republic of Uganda
  • Mr Tinashe Munjoma, Meikles Hotel, the Republic of Zimbabwe

Region of the Americas awardees

  • The Honourable Senator Ernesto Soro, Mexico
  • Corporate Accountability International, the United States of America

Eastern Mediterranean Region awardees

  • Dr Maha Al Kawari, Consultant, Family Physician, Representative on the Gulf Cooperation Council Anti-Tobacco Committee, Ministry of Health, the Kingdom of Bahrain
  • Dr Marziye Vahid Dastjerdi, Minister of Health and Head of the National Tobacco Control Headquarters, the Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Dr Sami Al Nasser, Head of Public Health State, Ministry of Health, the State of Kuwait
  • Mr Mamdouh Sayed Omar, Under Secretary of Egyptian Sales Taxes Administration, Ministry of Finance, the Arab Republic of Egypt
  • Mr Mutaa Majzoub, Executive Director, Riaya Islamic Welfare Association, the Lebanese Republic
  • Dr Majed Abdullah Al Munif, Tobacco Control Program, Ministry of Health, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

European Region awardees

  • Honorable Dr Andrei Usatîi, Minister of Health, the Republic of Moldova
  • Professor Dr Cevdet Erdol, President of Health, Family, Labor and Social Affairs Commission, Grand National Assembly, the Republic of Turkey
  • Mrs Patti White, National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Nothern Ireland
  • Ms Jean King, Director of Tobacco Control at Cancer Research, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Nothern Ireland
  • Ms Sylviane Ratte, Senior Adviser, International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease, the French Republic

South-East Asia Region awardees

  • Honorable dr Endang Rahayu Sedyaningsih, Dr Ph, Minister of Health, the Republic of Indonesia
  • Dr Praveen Mishra, Secretary, Ministry of Health and Population, Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal
  • Dr Atiur Rahman, Governor, Central Bank of Bangladesh, the People’s Republic of Bangladesh
  • Professor Carlo Fonseka, Chairman, National Authority on Tobacco and Alcohol, the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
  • Cancer Patients Aid Association, India
  • Dr Monika Arora, Head, Health Promotion and Tobacco Control, Public Health Foundation of India, India

Western Pacific Region awardees

  • Atty. Francis N. Tolentino, Chairman, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority, Republic of the Philippines
  • Korean Association on Smoking or Health, Republic of Korea