Tobacco Free Initiative (TFI)

World No Tobacco Day 2013 awards - the winners

Every year, WHO recognizes individuals or organizations in each of the six WHO Regions for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control. This recognition takes the form of WHO Director-General Special Recognition Awards, World No Tobacco Day Awards, and in 2013, one WHO Director-General's Special Recognition Certificate.

WHO Director-General Special awards

  • Mr Paul Kasereka Lughembe, the Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Honorable Dr Pradit Sintavanarong, Minister of Public Health, the Kingdom of Thailand

WHO Director-General's Special Recognition certificate

  • His Excellency the Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdoğan, Republic of Turkey

African Region awardees

  • Vision for Alternative Development, the Republic of Ghana
  • Mr Ibrahima Kalissa, the Republic of Guinée
  • Ms Diabate Mariam Berthe, the Republic of Mali
  • Mr Mayaki Mamane, the Republic of Niger
  • Mr Jean Christophe Rusatira, the Republic of Rwanda

Region of the Americas awardees

  • Dr Geoffrey T. Fong, Canada
  • Dr Jaime José Mañalich Muxi, Ministry of Health, the Republic of Chile
  • Dr Roberto Castro Córdoba, the Republic of Costa Rica
  • Dr Joaquín Barnoya Pérez, the Republic of Guatemala
  • Dr Marthelise Eersel, Ministry of Health, the Republic of Suriname
  • The National Assembly of Suriname, the Republic of Suriname

Eastern Mediterranean Region awardees

  • Ms Khadijeh Fereidoun Mohasseli, the Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Multi-sectorial Smoking Control Committee, the Republic of Iraq
  • Dr Atef Morched Majdalani, the Lebanese Republic
  • Dr Rima Nakkash, the Lebanese Republic
  • The Public Authority of Consumer Protection, the Sultanate of Oman
  • Dr Asad Ramlawi, Palestine

European Region awardees

  • His Excellency the Prime Minister Viktor Orbán, Hungary
  • Ms Tetiana Bakhteeva, Member of Parliament, Ukraine
  • Ms Lesia Orobets, Member of Parliament, Ukraine
  • Mr Pascal A. Diethelm, the Swiss Confederation
  • Professor Amanda Amos, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Mr Stephen Williams, Member of Parliament, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

South-East Asia Region awardees

  • Directorate of Medical and Health Services, The Government of State of Rajasthan, India
  • Ms Shoba John, India
  • Dr Rakesh Gupta, India
  • Honorable Mr Maithripala Sirisena, Minister of Health, the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
  • Honorable Professor Pe Thet Khin, Union Minister of Health, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar

Western Pacific Region awardees

  • Phnom Penh Capital City, the Kingdom of Cambodia
  • Dr Huang Jiefu, the People's Republic of China
  • Ministry of Health, the Cook Islands
  • Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health, China, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (Hong Kong SAR)
  • Dr Zarihah binti Dato' Mohd Zain, Malaysia
  • President Benigno S. Aquino III and the Sin Tax Team, the Republic of the Philippines