Tobacco Free Initiative (TFI)

World No Tobacco Day 2016 awards - the winners

Every year, WHO recognizes individuals or organizations in each of the six WHO Regions for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control. This recognition takes the form of WHO Director-General Special Recognition Awards, World No Tobacco Day Awards, and in 2016, two WHO Director-General's Special Recognition Certificates.

WHO Director-General Special awards

  • Her Excellency Ms Marisol Touraine, Minister of Social Affairs and Health, France
  • Her Excellency Ms Jane Ellison MP, Member of Parliament for Battersea, and Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Public Health, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

WHO Director-General's Special Recognition certificates

  • Professor Mike Daube AO, Australia
  • Professor Melanie Wakefield, Australia

African Region awardees

  • Honourable Omar Sey, Minister of Health and Social Welfare, the Gambia
  • Alliance Congolaise pour le Contrôle du Tabac (ACCT), Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Mr François Habiyaremye, Rwanda
  • Multi-Sectorial Working Group for Tobacco Control, the Gambia
  • Tobacco Control Board, Kenya

Region of the Americas awardees

  • Aliança de Controle do Tabagismo + Saúde (ACT+), Brazil
  • Professor David Hammond, Canada
  • Professor James Thrasher, United States of America

Eastern Mediterranean Region awardees

  • Dr Ali Akbar Sayyar, Deputy Minister of Health, Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Ministry of Health, Iraq
  • Health Committee in the Parliament, Iraq
  • Ms Sabah Mohammed Al Bahlani, Member of State Council, Oman
  • Mr Issa Said Al Kiyomi, Member of State Council, Oman
  • Ministry of Health, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

European Region awardees

  • Ms Emmanuelle Béguinot, Director, Comité National Contre le Tabagisme (CNCT), France
  • Ms Oxana Domenti, Head of Committee for Social Protection, Health and Family, Parliament, Republic of Moldova
  • Mrs Aurelia Cristea, Member of Parliament, Romania
  • Coalition Romania Breathes, Romania

South-East Asia Region awardees

  • His Excellency Dr Rui Maria de Araújo, Prime Minister of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste
  • His Excellency Dr Piyasakol Sakolsatayadhorn, Minister of Public Health, Kingdom of Thailand

Western Pacific Region awardees

  • Ministry of Health and Welfare, Republic of Korea
  • Mr Alexander de las Alas Padilla, President and Chief Executive Officer, Philippine Health Insurance Corporation (PhilHealth), Department of Health, Philippines
  • Ministry of Health and Medical Services, Solomon Islands