Tobacco Free Initiative (TFI)

World No Tobacco Day 2017 awards - the winners

Every year, WHO recognizes individuals or organizations in each of the six WHO Regions for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control. This recognition takes the form of WHO Director-General Special Recognition Awards, World No Tobacco Day Awards.

WHO Director-General Special awards

  • His Excellency Mr Jagat Prakash Nadda, Union Minister for Health and Family Welfare, Republic of India
  • Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs of the Republic of the Gambia

African Region awardees

  • Tigray Regional Health Bureau, Tigray National Regional State, Federal Democracti Republic of Ethiopia
  • Mrs Olivia Agyekumwaa Boateng, Republic of Ghana
  • Dr Ravelojoeliandriambeloaritafika Aurélien, Directeur de l’Office National de Lutte Antitabac, Republic of Madagascar
  • National Assembly of the Republic of the Gambia
  • Dr Elel Boulou Epse Ndembiyembe Flore, Republic of Cameroon

Region of the Americas awardees

  • Ministerio de Hacienda y Crédito Público; Ministerio de Salud y Protección Social; Veeduría Ciudadana para el Control del Tabaco, Colombia
  • Servicio de Rentas Internas, SRI, Ecuador
  • Ministerio de Economía y Finanzas, Peru

Eastern Mediterranean Region awardees

  • Dr Ahmad Mohamed Al Mulla, State of Qatar
  • Dr Bashir Sarwari, Afghanistan
  • The Secretariat General for Taxation, Ministry of Finance, Sultanate of Oman

European Region awardees

  • Mrs Milojka Kolar Celarc, Minister of Health, Republic of Slovenia
  • Department of Health, Ireland
  • Dr Lenka Teska Arnoštová, Deputy Minister of Health, Czech Republic
  • Dr Srmena Krstev, President of National Tobacco Control Committee, Republic of Serbia
  • Unfairtobacco, Germany
  • National Healthy Lifestyle Center, Kazakhstan

South-East Asia Region awardees

  • Dr Supreda Adulyanon, Chief Executive Officer, Thai Health Promotion Foundation, Kingdom of Thailand
  • His Excellency Mr Tandin Wangchuk, Minister of Health and the Chairperson of the Buthan Narcotic Control Authority, Kingdom of Bhutan
  • National Authority on Tobacco and Alcohol, Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
  • Mr Saber Hossain Chowdhury, Member of Parliament, People’s Republic of Bangladesh
  • His Excellency Mr Abdulla Nazim Ibrahim, Honourable Minister of Health, Republic of Maldives

Western Pacific Region awardees

  • Her Excellency Dr Paulyn Jean B. Rosell-Ubial, Secretary of Health, Department of Health, Republic of the Philippines
  • Ministry of Health, Vanuatu
  • Mr Jonathan Liberman, Director, McCabe Centre for Law and Cancer, Australia
  • Shanghai Municipal People's Government, People’s Republic of China
  • Dr Tadao Shimao, Honorary Consultant, Japan Anti-Tuberculosis Association, Japan
  • Department of Health, Tokelau