Comisión Nacional de Seguridad (CNS)/National Commission for Security - Mexico

Constituyentes No. 947.
Colonia Belén de las flores, C.P.01110
Delegación Álvaro Obregón
México, D.F.

The CNS is the Federal government’s institution responsible for maintaining public security, order and peace; safeguarding the people’s rights and personal safety; and preventing crime. The CNS consists of five administrative units: Planning, Prospective and Private Security; Institutional Development; Public Security Information; Services and Police Training; and the General Inspectorate. Additionally it oversees three independent agencies: the Federal Police, the Federal Protection Service, and Prevention and Social Reentry (the Federal Penitentiary System).

VPA focal person

Monte Alejandro Rubido García
National Commissioner for Security
Tel. +52 (55)11036000

Monte Alejandro Rubido García studied law at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), where he graduated with an honorable distinction in 1977. He obtained a Graduate Degree (DEA) from the University of Sorbonne Nouvelle (Paris III) in 1982.

His career in public service began in 1975, in the National Institute for Child Protection (INPI), which would later become the National System for Family Integral Development (DIF), where he was responsible for designing and implementing Community Development projects until 1980.

In 1983 he joined the Directorate of Social and Political Investigations of the Secretary of the Interior, where he held the positions of analyst, department chief, and area deputy director. In 1986, when the General Directorate for National Security (DISEN) was created, he was appointed Director of Analysis.

In the Center for Research and National Security (CISEN), he held the positions of Director of Analysis and Director of Research from 1989 to 1994. Between May 1994 and August 1995 he ran the state government’s Unit for Information and Analysis of the State of Mexico.

He returned to CISEN in September 1995, where he remained until 2006, as Deputy Secretary General, Director for Strategic Studies and Secretary General.

Between January 2007 and September 2008 he was the Undersecretary for Prevention, Community Relations and Human Rights at the Secretary for Public Security (SSP). From September 2008 to March 2009 he served as the Executive Secretary of the National Public Security System.

In April 2009, he was appointed Technical Secretary of the National Security Council. In September 2009, he returned as Undersecretary for Prevention, Community Relations and Human Rights at the SSP, where his title later changed to Undersecretary for Prevention and Citizen Participation.

In January 2012, he was appointed Secretary General of CISEN, where he remained until March 2013, when he returned to the position of Executive Secretary of the National Public Security System.

In March 2014, he was nominated by the Secretary of the Interior for the position of National Commissioner for Security and ratified for the post by the Senate.